ALDI Nord Campus

ALDI Nord Campus

Architekt
BAID
Standort
Essen, Germany | View Map
Projektjahr
2022
Kategorie
Büros
Geschichten von
BAID
Marcus Bredt
Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt

ElementMarkeProduct Name
HerstellerSDC lab
Osaka/ Little miss O
CUSTOM SEATING SOLUTION
tilesMosa
fire doorsJansen
CarpetsInterface
lightingZumtobel Lighting Gmbh
HPLEGGER Wood-based materials

Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt
Hersteller
CUSTOM SEATING SOLUTION, Osaka/ Little miss O nach SDC lab
tiles
nach Mosa
fire doors
nach Jansen
Carpets
nach Interface
lighting

ALDI Nord Campus

BAID als Architekten

BAID Architekten aus Hamburg sind für die architektonische Gestaltung des ALDI Nord Campus in Essen-Kray verantwortlich. Das neue, signetartige Verwaltungsgebäude der ALDI Einkauf SE & Co. oHG wird Platz für bis zu 2.000 Mitarbeiter bieten.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Anfang März wurde der neue ALDI Nord Campus in Essen-Kray nach fast dreijähriger Bauzeit eröffnet. Der rund 100.000 Quadratmeter große Gebäudekomplex wurde von BAID Architekten aus Hamburg entworfen und ist ein bedeutender Meilenstein in der Unternehmensgeschichte des Essener Lebensmitteldiscounters. Auf einer Fläche so groß wie 14 Fußballfelder bietet das neue Gebäude eine hochmoderne, agile Arbeitswelt. Ein Arbeitsumfeld, das viel Raum für Kooperation und Kommunikation in neuen Arbeitsformen bietet. Der ALDI Nord Campus ist damit ein Symbol für den Transformationsprozess der Unternehmensgruppe ALDI Nord.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Die neue Heimat von ALDI Einkauf in Essen ist ein wichtiger und notwendiger Schritt in die Zukunft der Unternehmensgruppe als Erfinder des Lebensmitteldiscounters. Anpassungsfähigkeit ist im Handel unerlässlich, gerade in einer zunehmend internationalen und digitalen Welt. In der Architektur spiegeln sich neue Arbeits- und Kommunikationsstrukturen wider, die einen schnellen und offenen Austausch zwischen den Abteilungen und Mitarbeitern, sowohl extern als auch intern, ermöglichen.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Der ALDI Nord Campus besteht im Wesentlichen aus Großraumbüros, Co-Working-Flächen und Kommunikationsknotenpunkten für unterschiedlichste Anforderungen. Unter den insgesamt rund 1.200 Dauerarbeitsplätzen im Hauptgebäude befinden sich weniger als 50 Einzelbüros. Ein zentrales Café und das Betriebsrestaurant schaffen eine direkte Verbindung zur weitläufigen Parklandschaft mit Wasserbecken, Kräutergarten und Joggingstrecke, die von WES Landschaftsarchitekten gestaltet wurde. Ergänzt wird der Bürokomplex durch zwei Parkhäuser mit einer großen Solaranlage auf dem Dach, eine Kindertagesstätte, einen Pförtnerpavillon und einen Sportpavillon.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Der ALDI Nord Campus befindet sich im Industriegebiet von Essen-Kray. ALDI Nord hatte auf dem Gelände ein riesiges Lager betrieben, auf dem direkt angrenzenden Grundstück befindet sich das bisherige Verwaltungsgebäude, das derzeit saniert wird und vom "Erfinder des Discounters" weiter genutzt werden soll.
BAID Architekten wurden 2016 mit dem ersten Preis des geladenen Architekturwettbewerbs ausgezeichnet und überzeugten die Jury mit ihrer differenzierten und eleganten Architektursprache für ALDI Nord, die weit über die Grenzen des neuen Campus hinaus sichtbar ist. "Der Campus wurde nach den Anforderungen und Wünschen eines modernen Unternehmens entworfen und geplant, im Vertrauen auf die erfolgreichen Werte und mit Blick auf die Zukunft", sagt Architektin Jessica Borchardt, Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin von BAID.
Mit ihrem Entwurf haben BAID die ursprüngliche Topografie des Geländes wiederhergestellt und den rund 10 Meter hohen Niveauunterschied im Gelände mit dem Erdaushub für die neuen Gebäude geformt. Aus dieser Ausformung leiteten die Architekten die Leitidee für den gesamten Campus ab: Auf terrassierten Ebenen ordneten die Architekten die nach Funktionen gegliederten Nutzungseinheiten in einem Dreieck um den Höhepunkt des Campus - einen siebengeschossigen Büroturm - an. Mit ihrer aufgelockerten Campusgestaltung reagierten BAID auch auf das angrenzende, kleinteilige Stadtbild von Essen-Kray und entwickelten gleichzeitig ein neues grünes Quartier: Rund 450 neue Bäume wurden auf dem Campus gepflanzt.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Nachhaltigkeit und Weitsicht
BAID entwickelte für den Campus eine nachhaltige Architektur, die von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen (DGNB) mit dem Zertifikat in Gold ausgezeichnet wurde. Entscheidende Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren sind die große Solaranlage auf den Dächern der Parkhäuser, die konsequent intensive Dachbegrünung der Gebäude, die Nutzung von Geothermie über Wärmepumpen, ein Lüftungskonzept mit Wärmerückgewinnung und eine effiziente Grundversorgung des Campus mit Wärme und Strom über einen Fernwärmeanschluss. Besondere Elemente sind die beiden Wasserflächen auf dem Campus, die das auf dem Grundstück anfallende Regenwasser - auch von den Dächern - auffangen. Die Seen, die durch ihre Gestaltung weit mehr sind als bloße Regenwasserrückhaltebecken, erhöhen zudem die Aufenthaltsqualität auf dem Campus und verbessern das lokale Mikroklima deutlich. Für Jessica Borchardt ist der Inbegriff des nachhaltigen Bauens jedoch, wenn ein Gebäude seinen Nutzern lange Zeit zuverlässig dient und nicht schon nach wenigen Jahrzehnten ersetzt werden muss, weil es nicht mehr zur Unternehmensstruktur passt. Deshalb plant BAID alle seine Projekte mit größtmöglicher Weitsicht und gestaltet die Gebäude so flexibel und anpassungsfähig wie möglich.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Die erste Erweiterung des ALDI Nord Campus, die von Anfang an geplant war, steht kurz vor der Übergabe. Die Bereitstellung zusätzlicher Kapazitäten für Lüftung, Klimatisierung und Kommunikation erweist sich bei solchen wachsenden Projekten als besondere Herausforderung. Da die begrünte Dachlandschaft von Installationen freigehalten werden sollte, bietet nun ein erweitertes Untergeschoss die notwendigen Versorgungsmöglichkeiten für die Haustechnik. Zusammen mit dem geplanten Umbau der bestehenden Hauptverwaltung wird auf dem Campus Platz für bis zu 2.000 Mitarbeiter sein.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

"Das moderne Gebäude entspricht hohen Nachhaltigkeitsstandards und bietet ausreichend Platz für alle ALDI Nord Mitarbeiter - ein wichtiger Schritt für uns als Arbeitgeber, um den zeitgemäßen Erwartungen an einen modernen und interessanten Arbeitsplatz gerecht zu werden", betont Torsten Janke, Geschäftsführer der Albrecht KG und als Bauherr verantwortlich für den ALDI Nord Campus.

Spontane, zufällige Begegnungen
Die gesamte Gestaltung des ALDI Nord Campus ist Ausdruck einer zeitgemäßen Unternehmenskultur in der Architektur, die auf Kommunikation und Austausch untereinander setzt. Der große Platz im Zentrum des Bürokomplexes ist der zentrale Punkt. Rund um die Leere, die sich über bis zu fünf Geschosse erstreckt, bieten die so genannten Communication Hubs zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für spontane Meetings. Alle Verkehrswege führen über die Plaza - jeder bewegt sich unweigerlich durch diesen Raum. Auch der Haupteingang des Bürokomplexes führt direkt in den zentralen Hub.

Marcus Bredt


"Horizontal und vertikal an die zentrale Plaza angebunden, ermöglicht unsere Architektur zwangsläufig zufällige Begegnungen und barrierefreien Austausch über alle Bereiche hinweg", erklärt Jessica Borchardt.

Konstruktion und Formensprache
Die Plaza ist stützenfrei und wird durch ein großes, filigranes Glasdach mit Tageslicht durchflutet. Direkt an diesen zentralen Raum grenzen die wichtigsten zusätzlichen Einrichtungen für die ALDI-Mitarbeiter an: der Vortragssaal, das Betriebsrestaurant und das Café. Beide gastronomischen Einrichtungen ermöglichen mit ihren überdimensionalen Glasschiebetüren einen direkten Zugang zu den gestuften Außenterrassen an den beiden Seen. Zwischen den einzelnen Gebäudeteilen öffnet sich die Plaza mit ihren transparenten Glasflächen nach allen Seiten hin zur Parklandschaft. Blickfang auf der Plaza sind die beiden vertikalen grünen Wände, die das Mikroklima und die Akustik im großen Innenraum spürbar verbessern. In Kombination mit zahlreichen akustischen Maßnahmen, die alle Wand- und Deckenflächen einbeziehen, tragen sie zudem zu einer angenehmen Atmosphäre bei.

Marcus Bredt

Der Grundriss des Platzes ist die prägende geometrische Figur für den gesamten Campus. Die signetartige Formensprache mit abgerundeten Dreiecken oder Polygonen zieht sich durch alle Gestaltungselemente, von den Grundrissen des Empfangs- und Sportpavillons und der Kindertagesstätte bis hin zu raumbildenden Elementen wie Oberlichtern, Fenstern oder Objekten in den Gebäuden. BAID entwarf das Gebäude als Stahlbetonskelettbau mit einer klassisch modernen, horizontal gegliederten Fassade mit Fensterbändern und weißen Aluminiumelementen. Die horizontalen Geschossdecken springen hervor und verstärken den linearen Eindruck. Geschosshohe Fensterelemente mit Dreifach-Isolierverglasung sorgen für eine optimale Tageslichtausbeute in den Bürobereichen.

Marcus Bredt

Bemerkenswert ist die in zusätzlichen Untergeschossen untergebrachte und auf Erweiterung ausgelegte Technik- und Versorgungstechnik. Dadurch konnte die Dachlandschaft fast vollständig von haustechnischen Installationen freigehalten werden und sichert den Anschluss weiterer Ausbaustufen.

Marcus Bredt

Bei der Innenraumgestaltung handelte BAID nach der Devise "plain and clean" und beschränkte sich auf vergleichsweise wenige, dafür aber langlebige Materialien und Oberflächen: Es dominieren gläserne, helle Wände und Decken, die Büros sind mit akustisch wirksamen und robusten Teppichböden in verschiedenen Grautönen ausgestattet, in den Verkehrsflächen und auf der Plaza wurde ein heller Terrazzoboden gegossen. Als Kontrast zu den enormen Dimensionen der offenen Bereiche hat BAID mit großflächigen und wegen der Akustik mikroperforierten Holzoberflächen gearbeitet, um den Komfort zu erhöhen. Möbel und dreieckige Leuchten in der blauen CI-Farbe von ALDI Nord werden punktuell eingesetzt und lockern mit ihrer dekorativen Farbe die Gestaltung auf.

Read story in EnglishFrançaisPortuguêsItaliano and Español

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

ALDI Nord Campus

ALDI Nord Campus

Architect
BAID
Location
Essen, Germany | View Map
Project Year
2022
Category
Offices
Stories By
BAID
Marcus Bredt
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
ManufacturersSDC lab
Osaka/ Little miss O
CUSTOM SEATING SOLUTION
tilesMosa
fire doorsJansen
CarpetsInterface
lightingZumtobel Lighting Gmbh
HPLEGGER Wood-based materials

Product Spec Sheet
Manufacturers
CUSTOM SEATING SOLUTION, Osaka/ Little miss O by SDC lab
tiles
by Mosa
fire doors
by Jansen
Carpets

ALDI Nord Campus

BAID as Architects

BAID Architekten from Hamburg are responsible for the architectural design of the ALDI Nord Campus in Essen-Kray. The new, signet-like administration building of ALDI Einkauf SE & Co. oHG will provide workspace for up to 2,000 employees.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

At the beginning of March, the new ALDI Nord Campus in Essen-Kray was opened after a construction period of almost three years. The building complex, which covers around 100,000 square metres, was designed by BAID Architekten from Hamburg and is a significant milestone in the corporate history of the Essen-based discount supermarket chain. On an area the size of 14 football pitches, the new building offers an ultra-modern, agile working environment. A working environment that provides plenty of room for cooperation and communication in new ways of working. The ALDI Nord Campus is thus a symbol for the transformation process of the ALDI Nord Group.

 

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

The new home of ALDI Einkauf in Essen is an important and necessary step into the future of the corporate group as the inventor of discount supermarkets. Adaptability is essential in retail, especially in an increasingly international and digital world. New work and communication structures that enable a fast and open exchange among departments and employees, both external and internal, are reflected in the architecture.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

The ALDI Nord Campus consists mainly of open space offices, co-working areas and communication hubs for a wide range of requirements. Among a total of around 1,200 permanent workplaces in the main building, there are fewer than 50 individual offices. A central café and the staff restaurant create a direct link to the extensive park landscape with water basins, herb garden and jogging track, which was designed by WES Landschaftsarchitekten. The office complex is complemented by two multi-storey car parks with a large roof-mounted solar power system, a day-care centre, a porter’s pavilion and a sports pavilion.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

The ALDI Nord Campus is situated in the industrial area of Essen-Kray. ALDI Nord had operated a huge warehouse on the site, and the previous administration building is located on the directly adjacent property, which is currently being renovated and will continue to be used by the “inventor of the discount”.

BAID Architekten were awarded first prize in the invited architectural competition in 2016, having impressed the jury with their differentiated and elegant architectural vocabulary for ALDI Nord that is visible far beyond the boundaries of the new campus. “The campus was designed and planned according to the requirements and wishes of a modern company, trusting in the successful values and with an eye on the future,” says architect Jessica Borchardt, founder and managing director of BAID.
With their design, BAID restored the original topography of the site and shaped the approximately 10-metre-high level difference in the terrain with the soil excavated for the new buildings. From this moulding, the architects derived the guiding idea for the entire campus: on terraced levels, the architects arranged the usage units, which are structured by function, in a triangle around the high point of the campus – a seven-storey office tower. With their loosened-up campus design, BAID also responded to the adjacent, small-scale cityscape of Essen-Kray and at the same time developed a new green quarter: around 450 new trees were planted on the campus.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Sustainability and foresight

BAID developed a sustainable architecture for the campus that was awarded Gold certification by the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB). Decisive sustainability factors are the large solar power system on the rooftops of the car parks, the consistently intensive roof greening of the buildings, the use of geothermal energy via heat pumps, a ventilation concept with heat recovery and an efficient basic provision of heat and electricity for the campus via a district heating connection. Special elements are the two water areas on the campus, which collect the rainwater – also from the roofs – that accumulates on the property. The lakes, which thanks to their design are much more than mere rainwater retention basins, also increase the sojourn quality on the campus and significantly improve the local microclimate. For Jessica Borchardt, however, the epitome of sustainable construction is when a building reliably serves its users for a long time and does not have to be replaced after just a few decades because it no longer suits the corporate structure. That is why BAID plans all its projects with the greatest possible foresight and designs the buildings to be as flexible and adaptable as possible.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

The first extension to the ALDI Nord Campus, which was planned from the very beginning, is about to be handed over. The provision of additional capacities for ventilation, air conditioning and communication proves to be particularly challenging in such growing projects. Since the green roofscape was to be kept free of installations, an extended basement now provides the necessary supply facilities for the building services. Together with the planned conversion of the existing headquarters, there will be room for up to 2,000 employees on the campus.
“The modern building complies with high sustainability standards and offers enough space for all ALDI Nord employees – an important step for us as an employer to meet the contemporary expectations of a modern and interesting workplace,” emphasises Torsten Janke, Managing Director of Albrecht KG and, as the client, responsible for the ALDI Nord Campus.

photo_credit Marcus Bredt
Marcus Bredt

Spontaneous, chance encounters

The entire design of the ALDI Nord Campus portrays a contemporary corporate culture in architecture, which focuses on communication and exchange with one another. The large plaza in the centre of the office complex is the focal point. Around the void, which extends over up to five storeys, the so-called communication hubs provide numerous opportunities for spontaneous meetings. All circulation routes lead across the plaza – everyone inevitably moves through this space. The main entrance to the office complex also leads directly to the central hub.
“Connected horizontally and vertically to the central plaza, our architecture inevitably allows for chance encounters and barrier-free exchange across all areas,” explains Jessica Borchardt.

Marcus Bredt

Construction and design vocabulary

The plaza is column-free and flooded with daylight entering through a huge, filigree glass roof. The most important additional facilities for ALDI employees are directly adjoining this central space: the lecture hall, the staff restaurant and the café. With their oversized sliding glass doors, both catering facilities allow direct access to the stepped outdoor terraces on the two lakes. Between the individual building sections, the plaza with its transparent glass areas opens up towards the park landscape on all sides. Eye-catchers in the plaza are the two vertical green walls, which noticeably improve the microclimate and the acoustics in the large indoor space. In combination with numerous acoustic measures that include all wall and ceiling surfaces, they also contribute to a pleasant atmosphere.

Marcus Bredt

The ground plan of the plaza is the defining geometric figure for the entire campus. The signet-like formal vocabulary with rounded triangles or polygons recurs throughout all design elements, from the ground plans of the reception and sports pavilion and the day-care centre, to space-defining elements such as skylights, windows or objects in the buildings. BAID designed the building as a reinforced concrete skeleton structure with a classically modern, horizontally structured façade with ribbon windows and white aluminium elements. The horizontal floor slabs jump out and intensify the linear impression. Floor-to-ceiling window elements with triple insulating glazing ensure optimal daylight yield in the office areas.

Marcus Bredt

The technical and supply services, housed in additional basement levels and designed for extension, is noteworthy. This made it possible to keep the roofscape almost entirely free of building services installations and ensures the connection of further expansion stages.

Marcus Bredt

For the interior design, BAID acted according to the motto “plain and clean”, limiting themselves to comparatively few but durable materials and surfaces: glass, light-coloured walls and ceilings prevail, the offices are fitted with acoustically effective and robust carpeting in various shades of grey, and a light-coloured terrazzo floor was poured in the circulation areas and in the plaza. As a contrast to the enormous dimensions of the open areas, BAID has worked with large-area and, because of the acoustics, micro-perforated wooden surfaces to increase comfort. Furniture and triangular luminaires in the blue CI colour of ALDI Nord are used in specific places to loosen up the design with their decorative colour.

Read story in FrançaisPortuguêsItalianoDeutsch and Español

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
Lviv’s Radio Garage offers an experimental space for temporary exhibitions with a focus on radio, sound art, VR-art, and interactive media
25 Jun 2022 News
Lviv’s Radio Garage offers an experimental space for temporary exhibitions with a focus on radio, sound art, VR-art, and interactive media

In Lviv, Radio Garage is a media art centre and an experimental gallery for temporary exhibitions wi... More

Urban infill project Manifesto Market Andel activates an underutilized gap in Prague’s urban fabric
25 Jun 2022 News
Urban infill project Manifesto Market Andel activates an underutilized gap in Prague’s urban fabric

Located in Prague’s Andel District, Manifesto Market Andel is an urban infill project activati... More

Amsterdam’s iconic Droogbak building transformed into a 21st-century office space for a prestigious law firm
24 Jun 2022 News
Amsterdam’s iconic Droogbak building transformed into a 21st-century office space for a prestigious law firm

An iconic 19th-century building next to Amsterdam Central Station, Droogbak has been transformed int... More

Renovated hacienda-style villa in Belgium respects its history while exploring form and materials
24 Jun 2022 News
Renovated hacienda-style villa in Belgium respects its history while exploring form and materials

House VD-B by Graux & Baeyens architecten is a renovated hacienda-style villa in Evergem, Belgiu... More

Landmark urban renewal project comes to the heart of Bruges with the completion of The Bruges Meeting & Convention Centre (BMCC)
22 Jun 2022 News
Landmark urban renewal project comes to the heart of Bruges with the completion of The Bruges Meeting & Convention Centre (BMCC)

In the heart of the historic city of Bruges, The Bruges Meeting & Convention Centre (BMCC) is a... More

Award-winning New Museum of Ethnography by NAPUR Architect opens in Budapest
22 Jun 2022 News
Award-winning New Museum of Ethnography by NAPUR Architect opens in Budapest

Designed by NAPUR Architect, the recently opened New Museum of Ethnography in Budapest is a purpose-... More

New Royal College of Art campus by Herzog & de Meuron unveiled in Battersea
22 Jun 2022 News
New Royal College of Art campus by Herzog & de Meuron unveiled in Battersea

The Royal College of Art unveiled its new campus in Battersea, London this past month.  With a... More

TAO’s Qingyijiang Road Elementary School explores a decentralized school system design that embraces equality, non-hierarchy, freedom, and diversity
21 Jun 2022 News
TAO’s Qingyijiang Road Elementary School explores a decentralized school system design that embraces equality, non-hierarchy, freedom, and diversity

The Qingyijiang Road Elementary School by TAO (Trace Architecture Office) explores a decentralized s... More