Ford Calumet Envrionmental Center

Valerio Dewalt Train als Architecture, Interior Design, Experiential Design, Sustainable Design

Der 280 Hektar große Big Marsh Park im Südosten Chicagos, der früher als Abladeplatz für Schlacke aus den nahe gelegenen Stahlwerken diente, wurde 2016 mit einem 40 Hektar großen Fahrradpark und Wanderwegen eröffnet. Der Chicago Park District beauftragte Valerio Dewalt Train (VDT) mit dem Entwurf eines 9.300 Quadratmeter großen Umweltzentrums, das als Bildungs- und Informationszentrum und als Tor zu ökologischen Erholungsmöglichkeiten in der ganzen Region dienen sollte.

Caption

Das Planungsteam reagierte auf die industrielle Vergangenheit des Parks, indem es das Industrielle mit dem Natürlichen verband und sich für eine Struktur aus Brettschichtholz (NLT) entschied, die im Inneren zusammen mit Säulen und Trägern aus Brettschichtholz sichtbar ist. Das Äußere ist mit einem Regenschutz aus verwittertem Stahl verkleidet, der an die Geschichte des Stahlwerks erinnert und mit der Zeit eine schützende Patina aus Rost entwickeln wird. Zwei große Lichtmonitore auf dem Dach sind mit freiliegendem NLT verkleidet und durchfluten den doppelt so hohen Ausstellungsbereich mit Tageslicht.

Caption

Der Bezirk wollte, dass das Gebäude ein Gefühl von Offenheit vermittelt, aber auch gesichert werden kann, wenn das Parkpersonal nicht vor Ort ist. Das Planungsteam reagierte darauf, indem es auf allen vier Seiten 10 Fuß große, raumhohe Fenster einbaute, die viel natürliches Licht in den Raum lassen. Große bewegliche hydraulische Hangartore aus Stahl schließen bündig mit der Außenwand ab und verdecken die Fenster, um die Anlage zu sichern, wenn sie geschlossen ist. Die perforierten Metallgitter der Türen sorgen dafür, dass die Sicht nach innen erhalten bleibt.

Caption

Angesichts der Bedeutung des Sumpfes für Zugvögel war es wichtig, dass das Design vogelfreundlich ist. Die Hangartore bilden ein Vordach, wenn sie hochgeklappt sind. Sie spenden Schatten und sorgen dafür, dass Vögel, die über den Hangar fliegen, die Landschaft nicht in den Fenstern reflektiert sehen und versehentlich hineinfliegen. Die Fenster sind außerdem mit Fransen versehen, um mögliche Kollisionen mit Vögeln zu vermeiden. Die nächtliche Außenbeleuchtung ist minimal, und es gibt keine Deckenbeleuchtung.

Caption

Die Einrichtung erfüllt die Bedürfnisse von Radfahrern und Naturliebhabern gleichermaßen, denn sie verfügt über einen Fahrradreparaturbereich sowie über Naturausstellungen, zwei Unterrichtsräume, Büros, Toiletten und Lagerräume. Eine Pflanzenkläranlage - die erste in Chicago und eine der ersten in Illinois - dient als wirtschaftliche (und umweltfreundliche) Alternative zum Anschluss an das städtische Abwassersystem auf der anderen Seite des Flusses.

Caption

Die Verwendung von NLT für die Struktur bringt auch eine Reihe von Umweltvorteilen mit sich: Es handelt sich um eine erneuerbare Ressource, das Holz kann vor Ort angebaut werden, anstatt nach Übersee verschifft zu werden, es ist hocheffektiv bei der Kohlenstoffbindung und benötigt bei der Herstellung viel weniger Energie als Stahl oder Beton.

DEEPSTREAM DESIGNS, INC
Chicago Parks Ford Calumet Umweltzentrum
DEEPSTREAM DESIGNS, INC als architektonische Aluminium-Schutzwände für Versorgungseinrichtungen und gefährliche Geräte5

Read story in EnglishItalianoFrançaisEspañol and Português

Ford Calumet Envrionmental Center

DEEPSTREAM DESIGNS, INC als Architectural Aluminum Screen Wall Enclosures for Utilities and Dangerous Equipment

Ein kühnes neues Umweltzentrum saniert eine ehemalige Brachfläche im Südosten Chicagos, auf der Stahlwerke fast ein Jahrhundert lang giftige Schlacke abgelassen haben.  Im Jahr 2016 stellte der Chicago Environmental Fund (CEF) 3,7 Millionen Dollar für den Bau des Ford Calumet Environmental Center in Big Marsh zur Verfügung. Die Mittel wurden der CEF ursprünglich von der Ford Motor Company zur Verfügung gestellt. Ende 2016 wurde mit der Planung des Zentrums begonnen, das im August 2021 der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden soll.

DeepStream Designs ist stolz darauf, Teil dieses positiven ökologischen Wandels zu sein, indem es recycelte und recycelbare Aluminiumwände und -tore für die Umzäunung der gefährlichen Geräte des Zentrums liefert, die aus Corten-Stahl gebaut werden.  Jedes DeepStream-Produkt generiert eine Spende an Trees.org, um Bäume zu pflanzen und Bauern in nachhaltigen Landwirtschaftsprojekten auf der ganzen Welt zu schulen.

Die Stadt Chicago und der Chicago Park District haben sich in den frühen 2000er Jahren zusammengetan, um dieses Gebiet in einen gesunden Lebensraum und einen ökologischen Erholungspark zu verwandeln.  Der Chicago Park District erwarb das Gelände im Jahr 2011 und begann mit der Parkplanung, der Umweltprüfung und der Beteiligung der Bevölkerung.  Ein Rahmenplan für den Park wurde 2014 fertiggestellt.  Die Planung für den Fahrradpark im südwestlichen Teil des Parks begann 2014 und der Fahrradpark wurde 2016 eröffnet.  Auch der nordwestliche Teil des Parks wurde 2016 mit einem neuen Wanderweg und einem Parkplatz für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

Park 564 "Big Marsh" ist ein 280 Hektar großes Gebiet, das allgemein als Calumet Area Reserve bekannt ist und 2011 vom Park District erworben und 2016 eröffnet wurde. Die Vision von Big Marsh ist es, eine neue Art der Freizeitgestaltung in Chicago zu schaffen, die die Wiederherstellung von Lebensräumen mit der öffentlichen Nutzung verbindet.  45 Hektar wurden für ökologische Erholungsmöglichkeiten wie Wandern, Abenteuerparcours und Off-Road-Biking erschlossen. Die Ökorekreationselemente befinden sich vor allem auf bestehenden Schlackenfeldern, auf denen Pflanzen nur schwer wachsen können und die Schaffung eines guten Lebensraums unwahrscheinlich ist. Andere Flächen sind für passive Freizeitaktivitäten wie Vogelbeobachtung und Spaziergänge reserviert.

Caption

Read story in EnglishItalianoFrançaisEspañol and Português

Ford Calumet Envrionmental Center

Valerio Dewalt Train as Architecture, Interior Design, Experiential Design, Sustainable Design

Once a dumping ground for slag from nearby steel mills, the 280-acre Big Marsh park opened in 2016 on the southeast side of Chicago with a 40-acre bike park as well as walking trails. The Chicago Park District asked Valerio Dewalt Train (VDT) to design a 9,300-square-foot environmental center that would serve as an education and information hub and as a gateway to eco-recreation opportunities throughout the region.

Caption

The design team responded to the park’s industrial past by marrying the industrial with the natural, choosing a nail-laminated timber (NLT) structure, exposed on the interior, in tandem with glulam columns and beams. The exterior is clad in a rain screen of weathered steel that recalls the site’s steel mill history and will develop a protective patina of rust over time. Two large rooftop light monitors are clad in exposed NLT and flood the double-height exhibition area with daylight.

Caption

The district wanted the building to convey a sense of openness while also retaining the ability to be secured when park staff were not on site. The design team responded by creating 10-foot-square floor-to-ceiling windows on all four sides that allow natural light deep into the space. Large movable hydraulic hangar doors made of steel hinge downwards to fit flush with the exterior wall, covering windows to secure the facility when it is closed. The doors’ perforated metal screens preserve visibility to the interior.

Caption

Given the marsh’s importance to migrating birds, it was essential that the design be bird friendly. The hangar doors form a canopy when raised, providing shade and ensuring that birds flying overhead do not see landscape reflected in the windows and fly into them by mistake. The windows are fritted as well to further avoid possible bird collisions. Exterior lighting at night is minimal, and there is no uplighting.

Caption

The facility meets the needs of both bikers and nature enthusiasts, with a bike repair area as well as nature exhibits, two classroom spaces, offices, restrooms, and storage spaces. VDT’s experiential design studio, Media-Objectives, is designing the exhibits.A constructed wastewater wetlands system—the first in Chicago and one of the first in Illinois—serves as an economical (and environmentally friendly) alternative to connecting to the city sewer system on the other side of the river.

Caption

The use of NLT for the structure brings a number of environmental benefits as well: it is a renewable resource, wood can be grown locally rather than shipped overseas, it is highly effective at carbon sequestration, and it requires much less energy to produce than steel or concrete.

Read story in ItalianoFrançaisEspañolPortuguês and Deutsch

Chicago Parks Ford Calumet Environmental Center

DEEPSTREAM DESIGNS, INC as Architectural Aluminum Screen Wall Enclosures for Utilities and Dangerous Equipment

A Bold New Environmental Center redeems a Former Brownfield Site created by steel mills dumping toxic slag for almost a century in southeast side of Chicago.  In 2016, The Chicago Environmental Fund (CEF) dedicated $3.7M for the construction of the Ford Calumet Environmental Center at Big Marsh. Funds were originally provided to CEF by Ford Motor Company. The center design began in late 2016 and opened to the public in August 2021.

DeepStream Designs is proud to part of this positive environmental transformation providing recycled and recyclable aluminum screen wall and gates to create the dangerous equipment enclosure to the Center which is built with Corten steel.  Every DeepStream product generates a donation the Trees.org to plan trees and train farmers in sustainable agriculture projects around the world.

The City of Chicago and the Chicago Park District teamed up in early 2000s to restore this area to a healthy habitat and eco-recreation park.  The Chicago Park District acquired the site in 2011 and began the park planning, environmental assessment, and community input process.  A Framework Plan for the park was completed in 2014.  Design for the bike park feature in the southwest section of the park began in 2014 and the bike park opened in 2016.  The northwest section of the park also opened to the public in 2016 with a new walking trail and parking lot.

Park 564 “Big Marsh” is a 280-acre area commonly known as the Calumet Area Reserve was acquired by the Park District in 2011 and opened in 2016. The vision of Big Marsh is to provide a new type of recreation in Chicago that marries habitat restoration with public use.  45 acres are developed for eco-recreation opportunities including hiking, adventure courses, and off-road biking. The eco-recreation elements are located primarily on existing slag fields where plants have a hard time growing and good habitat creation is unlikely. Other acreage is reserved for more passive recreation including bird-watching and walking.

Caption

Read story in ItalianoFrançaisEspañolPortuguês and Deutsch

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
Mc100 concept marks Guatemala’s 100th McDonald’s restaurant and the brand’s ongoing evolution
3 Feb 2023 News
Mc100 concept marks Guatemala’s 100th McDonald’s restaurant and the brand’s ongoing evolution

Over the past 40 years,  the McDonald’s brand has become deeply ingrained into Guatemalan... More

LMN Architects complete $2 billion Seattle Convention Center expansion
3 Feb 2023 News
LMN Architects complete $2 billion Seattle Convention Center expansion

LMN Architects have completed the USD 2 billion statement expansion to the Seattle Convention Center... More

Custom façade by Greater Dog Architects floats like a feather
3 Feb 2023 News
Custom façade by Greater Dog Architects floats like a feather

In Shaoxing, China, the new é é é | BSH headquarters is a mixed-use complex con... More

Top 10 office modular sofas
1 Feb 2023 Specification
Top 10 office modular sofas

Modular sofas are typically defined by simple forms and for unrestricted configurability, allowing u... More

Top 10 picks from Maison et Objet
1 Feb 2023 News
Top 10 picks from Maison et Objet

January’s edition of the bi-annual Parisian trade fair Maison et Objet revealed that sustainab... More

Brixen Public Library unites historical buildings with new social spaces
1 Feb 2023 News
Brixen Public Library unites historical buildings with new social spaces

Treviso-based architecture studio Carlana Mezzalira Pentimalli has completed the Brixen Public Libra... More

25 Best Architecture Firms in Lisbon
1 Feb 2023 News
25 Best Architecture Firms in Lisbon

Sculpted volumes that play with natural light; simple white forms that respond to warm climates and... More

Snohetta + WERK Arkitekter unveil an architectural landmark inspired by boat construction in Denmark
31 Jan 2023 News
Snohetta + WERK Arkitekter unveil an architectural landmark inspired by boat construction in Denmark

The seaport town Esbjerg on the west coast of Denmark welcomes a new maritime centre designed by Osl... More