The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

Architecte
Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Gensler
Lieu
Columbia University Medical Center, 104 Haven Avenue, United States | View Map
Année du projet
2016
Catégorie
Universités
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
EntrancesCRL
FabricantsBENTLEY
FabricantsDaltile
FabricantsGammalux
FabricantsImetco
FabricantsLutron Electronics Co. Inc.

Fiche technique du produit
Entrances
by CRL
Fabricants
by BENTLEY
Fabricants
by Daltile
Fabricants
Fabricants
by Imetco

Le centre éducatif Roy et Diana Vagelos

Diller Scofidio + Renfro en tant que Architectes.

Le nouveau bâtiment ultramoderne du centre médical de l'université Columbia pour l'enseignement de la médecine et des études supérieures, le Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center, ouvrira ses portes au corps enseignant et aux étudiants le 15 août 2016 pour le début du trimestre d'automne. Conçu par le studio de conception interdisciplinaire DillerScofidio + Renfro, basé à New York, en collaboration avec Gensler en tant qu'architecte exécutif, le Vagelos Education Center est une tour de verre de 14 étages, d'une superficie de 100 000 pieds carrés, qui intègre des salles de classe technologiquement avancées, des espaces de collaboration et un centre de simulation moderne afin de refléter la façon dont la médecine est enseignée, apprise et pratiquée au 21e siècle. La conception cherche à remodeler l'aspect et l'atmosphère du campus du centre médical, et à créer des espaces qui facilitent le développement des compétences essentielles à la pratique médicale moderne.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Le bâtiment est nommé en reconnaissance de la générosité d'un don initial de P. Roy Vagelos, MD, un ancien élève distingué du College of Physicians and Surgeons de Columbia, et de son épouse, Diana Vagelos, une ancienne élève du Barnard College et la vice-présidente du conseil d'administration du Barnard College. Le Vagelos Education Center a été financé grâce à la générosité de nombreux amis engagés, de professeurs et d'anciens donateurs. La construction a débuté en septembre 2013.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Nous formons les médecins qui délivreront les soins médicaux, les scientifiques qui effectueront des recherches scientifiques révolutionnaires et les enseignants qui contribueront à former la future génération de médecins et de scientifiques. Il est important que leurs installations éducatives soient aussi passionnantes que la science médicale l'est aujourd'hui", a déclaré le Dr Vagelos.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Nous sommes très reconnaissants à Roy et Diana pour leur dévouement envers Columbia, non seulement par leur propre don généreux pour ce nouveau bâtiment éducatif important, mais aussi par l'inspiration qu'ils donnent aux autres", a déclaré le président de Columbia, Lee C. Bollinger. "Ils sont rejoints dans cet engagement durable par Philip et Cheryl Milstein qui soutiennent depuis longtemps de nombreuses parties de l'université, de MorningsideHeights au centre médical, et Mary Jaharis et feu Michael Jaharis et leur famille, pour leur engagement de longue date avec le centre médical et ce projet. Grâce à leurs efforts collectifs, nous ajoutons un autre des nombreux nouveaux joyaux architecturaux à nos campus".

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Outre le nouveau Vagelos Education Center, les initiatives visant à revitaliser le campus comprennent l'augmentation des espaces verts, la création d'une nouvelle porte d'accès à l'école de médecine, le regroupement des services aux étudiants, la rénovation de plusieurs bâtiments existants et la construction de nouveaux espaces, notamment le nouveau siège de l'école d'infirmières Columbia. Le centre d'éducation Vagelos contribuera à définir la limite nord du campus et constituera un pont vers la communauté environnante de Washington Heights.

"Notre nouveau bâtiment d'enseignement permettra à Columbia de continuer à former des médecins et des chercheurs de haut niveau, formés aux techniques les plus récentes, alors que la médecine continue d'évoluer rapidement tout au long du 21e siècle", a déclaré Lee Goldman, MD, vice-président exécutif et doyen des facultés des sciences de la santé et de médecine de l'université Columbia. "Le bâtiment nous permettra également de centraliser les activités clés dans une installation ultramoderne qui reflète notre engagement à fournir un enseignement de classe mondiale et un superbe environnement d'apprentissage pour les étudiants."

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

À propos de la conception du centre éducatif Roy et Diana Vagelos Le centre éducatif Vagelos est une structure de verre, de béton et d'acier de 14 étages ancrée par un réseau d'espaces sociaux et d'étude distribués le long d'un escalier vertical exposé et interconnecté qui s'étend sur toute la hauteur du bâtiment - connu sous le nom de "Cascade d'étude" - et englobe 100 000 pieds carrés d'installations médicales et scientifiques avancées. Les intérieurs en alcôve de la cascade d'étude, conçus pour favoriser l'apprentissage et l'enseignement en équipe et en collaboration, s'ouvrent sur des espaces extérieurs et des terrasses orientés vers le sud. D'autres éléments clés de la conception comprennent :

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

- Le hall d'entrée et le café du rez-de-chaussée, qui jouxtent un "bar d'étude" avec vue sur les Palissades - Le Student Commons, qui comprend un café, un espace de travail informatique et des laboratoires d'informatique - Le centre de simulation clinique avancé, un espace spécialisé pour la simulation de salles d'examen, de cliniques et de salles d'opération - L'auditorium polyvalent, un espace flexible de 275 places utilisé pour des événements à l'échelle du campus tels que des conférences, Des "quartiers académiques", des groupes de salles de classe qui peuvent être configurés en fonction des besoins grâce à des cloisons mobiles, des écrans déroulants et des écrans tactiles multi-utilisateurs à grande échelle, des plafonds suspendus et une distribution de l'électricité et des données au niveau du sol.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"L'espace est important pour l'apprentissage structuré et informel", a déclaré Elizabeth Diller, associée fondatrice de DillerScofidio + Renfro. "Pour soutenir le programme d'enseignement médical progressif de Columbia, nous avons conçu un bâtiment qui favorisera la collaboration. Sa caractéristique principale est la Study Cascade----a réseau de 14 étages d'espaces reliés verticalement, de tailles diverses, à la fois concentrés et sociaux, privés et communautaires, à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur."

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Le Vagelos Education Center a débuté avec une vision claire, celle d'un lieu d'excellence pour l'enseignement supérieur qui servirait également de centre social indispensable", a déclaré Maddy Burke--Vigeland AIA, directrice de Gensler. "Grâce à l'implication profonde de chacun, il s'est transformé en quelque chose qui dépasse même ces attentes élevées : un nouveau centre dynamique pour le campus du centre médical de Columbia."

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

La conception de DS+R tire parti d'une vue incroyable sur le fleuve Hudson et les Palissades. Le bâtiment intègre également une série de caractéristiques durables, notamment des matériaux d'origine locale, des technologies de toiture verte et un système mécanique innovant qui minimise la consommation d'énergie et d'eau. La façade présente des motifs en céramique "frittée" qui sont cuits sur le verre extérieur pour diffuser la lumière du soleil. Tous les projets de construction et de rénovation, y compris le Vagelos Education Center, visent à minimiser l'empreinte carbone de la CUMC et à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 30 % d'ici 2025.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Read story in EnglishDeutschEspañolItaliano and Português

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

Architect
Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Gensler
Location
Columbia University Medical Center, 104 Haven Avenue, United States | View Map
Project Year
2016
Category
Universities
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
EntrancesCRL
ManufacturersBENTLEY
ManufacturersDaltile
ManufacturersGammalux
ManufacturersImetco
ManufacturersLutron Electronics Co. Inc.

Product Spec Sheet
Entrances
by CRL
Manufacturers
by BENTLEY
Manufacturers
by Daltile
Manufacturers
Manufacturers
by Imetco
Manufacturers

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

Diller Scofidio + Renfro as Architects

Columbia University Medical Center’s new, state-­‐of-­‐the-­‐art medical and graduate education building, the Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center, will open to faculty and students on August 15, 2016 for the start of the fall term. Designed by the New York-­‐based interdisciplinary design studio Diller Scofidio + Renfro, in collaboration with Gensler as executive architect, the Vagelos Education Center is a 100,000-­‐square-­‐foot, 14-­‐story glass tower that incorporates technologically advanced classrooms, collaboration spaces, and a modern simulation center to reflect how medicine is taught, learned, and practiced in the 21st century. The design seeks to reshape the look and feel of the Medical Center campus, and also create spaces that facilitate the development of skills essential for modern medical practice.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

The building is named in recognition of the generosity of an initial lead gift from P. Roy Vagelos, MD, a distinguished alumnus of Columbia’s College of Physicians and Surgeons, and his wife, Diana Vagelos, an alumna of Barnard College and the Vice Chair of the Trustees of Barnard College. The Vagelos Education Center was funded through the generosity of many committed friends, faculty and alumni donors. Construction began in September 2013.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“We are training the doctors who will deliver medical care, the scientists who will perform groundbreaking scientific research, and the teachers who will help train the future generation of physicians and scientists. It is important that their educational facilities are as exciting as medical science is today,” said Dr. Vagelos.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“We are so grateful for Roy and Diana’s dedication to Columbia, not only through their own generous gift for this important new education building, but also the inspiration they provide to others,” said Columbia President Lee C. Bollinger. “They are joined in this enduring commitment by Philip and Cheryl Milstein who have long supported so many parts of the university, from Morningside Heights to the Medical Center, and Mary Jaharis and the late Michael Jaharis and their family, for their long-­‐established engagement with the Medical Center and this project. Because of their collective efforts we are adding another of several new architectural jewels to our campuses.”

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

In addition to the new Vagelos Education Center, initiatives to revitalize the campus include increasing green space, creating a new gateway to the medical school, consolidating student services, renovating several existing buildings, and constructing new spaces, including the new home for the Columbia School of Nursing. The Vagelos Education Center will help define the northern edge of the campus and provide a bridge to the surrounding Washington Heights community.

“Our new education building will ensure that Columbia continues to train superior doctors and researchers, educated in the latest techniques, as medicine continues to evolve rapidly throughout the 21st century,” said Lee Goldman, MD, Executive Vice President and Dean of the Faculties of Health Sciences and Medicine at Columbia University. “The building also will allow us to centralize key activities in a state-­‐of-­‐the-­‐art facility that reflects our commitment to providing world-­‐class instruction and a superb learning environment for students.”

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

About the Design of the Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center The Vagelos Education Center is a 14-­‐story glass, concrete, and steel structure anchored by a network of social and study spaces distributed along an exposed, interconnected vertical staircase that extends the height of the building—known as the “Study Cascade”—and encompasses 100,000 square feet of advanced medical and scientific facilities. The alcove interiors of the Study Cascade, designed to be conducive to collaborative, team-­‐based learning and teaching, open onto south-­‐facing outdoor spaces and terraces. Other key elements of the design include:

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

• Ground floor lobby and café, which adjoin a “study bar” with views of the Palisades • Student Commons, which features a café, computer work area and computer labs • Advanced clinical simulation center, a specialized space for mock examination rooms, clinics and operating rooms • Multi-­‐purpose auditorium, a 275-­‐seat flexible space used for campus-­‐wide events such as lectures, screenings and concerts • “Academic Neighborhoods,” groups of classrooms that can be configured according to need by operable partitions, drop down screens and large-­‐scale multi-­‐user touch screens, suspended ceilings, and distributed power and data at the floor • South and West Courts, outdoor spaces featuring local plant species • Anatomy Quad, a flexible learning space with integrated screens and task lighting.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“Space matters for structured and informal learning,” said Elizabeth Diller, founding partner at Diller Scofidio + Renfro. “To support Columbia’s progressive medical education program, we designed a building that will nurture collaboration. Its defining feature is the Study Cascade-­‐-­‐a 14-­‐story network of vertically linked spaces in a variety of sizes, both focused and social, private and communal, indoors and out.”

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“The Vagelos Education Center started with a clear vision as a place of excellence for higher learning that would also act as a much needed social center,” said Maddy Burke-­‐Vigeland AIA, Principal at Gensler. “Because of everyone’s deep involvement, it has transformed into something that exceeds even those high expectations: a vibrant new hub for Columbia's Medical Center campus.”

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

DS+R’s design takes advantage of an incredible view of the Hudson River and the Palisades. The building also integrates a range of sustainable features—including locally sourced materials, green roof technologies, and an innovative mechanical system that minimizes energy and water use—and the façade features ceramic “frit” patterns that are baked onto the exterior glass to diffuse sunlight. All new construction and renovation projects—including the Vagelos Education Center—work toward the goal of minimizing CUMC’s carbon footprint and reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 30% by 2025.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Read story in DeutschFrançaisEspañolItaliano and Português

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
The Pitch by Mark Odom Studio repurposes shipping containers to form a vibrant new hub for Austin, Texas
6 Jul 2022 News
The Pitch by Mark Odom Studio repurposes shipping containers to form a vibrant new hub for Austin, Texas

Located in Austin, Texas, The Pitch is a new hospitality and entertainment complex made from shippin... More

Chalet D by monovolume architecture + design brings new life to alpine architecture
6 Jul 2022 News
Chalet D by monovolume architecture + design brings new life to alpine architecture

Located in the Austrian Alps, Chalet D is a family holiday home that includes a spa area. Modern and... More

The Natural Pavilion by DP6 architectuurstudio responds to key land-use challenges in the Netherlands
4 Jul 2022 News
The Natural Pavilion by DP6 architectuurstudio responds to key land-use challenges in the Netherlands

Designed for the Floriade 2022 Expo, The Natural Pavilion by DP6 architectuurstudio is a nearly 100%... More

Sonoma home by Mork-Ulnes Architects is defined by a strong concrete structural framework
4 Jul 2022 News
Sonoma home by Mork-Ulnes Architects is defined by a strong concrete structural framework

Overlooking the vineyards of California’s Sonoma landscape, the Frame House by Mork-Ulnes Arch... More

Top 10 Trending Tiles
4 Jul 2022 News
Top 10 Trending Tiles

From bathroom walls to flooring for living spaces, tiling provides a durable, easy-to-maintain finis... More

BIG unveils a playful, wooden, colourful factory for Vestre in the middle of the Norwegian woods
3 Jul 2022 News
BIG unveils a playful, wooden, colourful factory for Vestre in the middle of the Norwegian woods

In Manor, Norway, The Plus is a new furniture factory by BIG for furniture manufacturer Vestre. Inco... More

RH+architecture develop an intriguing urban infill strategy for a Paris neighbourhood
3 Jul 2022 News
RH+architecture develop an intriguing urban infill strategy for a Paris neighbourhood

In the 11th district of Paris, the architecture of the neighbourhood has a spontaneous feel characte... More

Poppodium Nieuwe Nor offers a new landmark and hub for new music in the Netherlands
29 Jun 2022 News
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor offers a new landmark and hub for new music in the Netherlands

  In the city center Of Heerlen, Poppodium Nieuwe Nor by diederendirrix is a unique new landma... More