The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

Architekt
Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Gensler
Standort
Columbia University Medical Center, 104 Haven Avenue, United States | View Map
Projektjahr
2016
Kategorie
Universitäten
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt

ElementMarkeProduct Name
EntrancesCRL
HerstellerBENTLEY
HerstellerDaltile
HerstellerGammalux
HerstellerImetco
HerstellerLutron Electronics Co. Inc.

Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt
Entrances
nach CRL
Hersteller
nach BENTLEY
Hersteller
nach Daltile
Hersteller
nach Gammalux
Hersteller
nach Imetco
Hersteller

Das Roy und Diana Vagelos Bildungszentrum

Diller Scofidio + Renfro als Architekten

Das Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center, das neue, hochmoderne Gebäude des Columbia University Medical Centers für Medizin und Graduiertenausbildung, wird am 15. August 2016 zum Beginn des Herbstsemesters für Dozenten und Studenten eröffnet. Das Vagelos Education Center wurde von dem in New York ansässigen interdisziplinären Designbüro Diller Scofidio + Renfro in Zusammenarbeit mit Gensler als ausführendem Architekten entworfen. Es handelt sich um einen 14-stöckigen Glasturm mit einer Fläche von 100.000 Quadratmetern, der technologisch fortschrittliche Klassenzimmer, Räume für die Zusammenarbeit und ein modernes Simulationszentrum enthält, um zu zeigen, wie Medizin im 21. Jahrhundert gelehrt, gelernt und praktiziert wird. Der Entwurf zielt darauf ab, das Aussehen und die Atmosphäre des Medical Center Campus neu zu gestalten und Räume zu schaffen, die die Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten erleichtern, die für eine moderne medizinische Praxis unerlässlich sind.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Das Gebäude wurde in Anerkennung der Großzügigkeit einer ersten Spende von P. Roy Vagelos, MD, einem angesehenen Absolventen des Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons, und seiner Frau Diana Vagelos, einer Absolventin des Barnard College und stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden des Kuratoriums des Barnard College, benannt. Das Vagelos Education Center wurde durch die Großzügigkeit vieler engagierter Freunde, Fakultätsmitglieder und ehemaliger Spender finanziert. Der Bau begann im September 2013.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Wir bilden die Ärzte aus, die für die medizinische Versorgung sorgen werden, die Wissenschaftler, die bahnbrechende wissenschaftliche Forschung betreiben werden, und die Lehrer, die dazu beitragen werden, die zukünftige Generation von Ärzten und Wissenschaftlern auszubilden. Es ist wichtig, dass ihre Bildungseinrichtungen so aufregend sind, wie es die medizinische Wissenschaft heute ist", sagte Dr. Vagelos.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Wir sind so dankbar für das Engagement von Roy und Diana für Columbia, nicht nur durch ihre eigene großzügige Spende für dieses wichtige neue Bildungsgebäude, sondern auch durch die Inspiration, die sie anderen geben", sagte Columbia-Präsident Lee C. Bollinger. "Philip und Cheryl Milstein, die seit langem so viele Bereiche der Universität, von Morningside Heights bis zum Medical Center, unterstützen, sowie Mary Jaharis und der verstorbene Michael Jaharis und ihre Familie, die sich seit langem für das Medical Center und dieses Projekt engagieren, schließen sich ihnen in ihrem Engagement an. Dank ihrer gemeinsamen Bemühungen können wir unserem Campus ein weiteres architektonisches Juwel hinzufügen."

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Neben dem neuen Vagelos Education Center umfassen die Initiativen zur Revitalisierung des Campus auch die Vergrößerung der Grünflächen, die Schaffung eines neuen Eingangs zur medizinischen Fakultät, die Konsolidierung der studentischen Dienstleistungen, die Renovierung mehrerer bestehender Gebäude und den Bau neuer Räumlichkeiten, einschließlich des neuen Standorts für die Columbia School of Nursing. Das Vagelos Education Center wird dazu beitragen, den nördlichen Rand des Campus zu definieren und eine Brücke zur umliegenden Gemeinde von Washington Heights zu schlagen.

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Unser neues Bildungsgebäude wird sicherstellen, dass die Columbia weiterhin hervorragende Ärzte und Forscher ausbildet, die in den neuesten Techniken geschult sind, da sich die Medizin im 21. Jahrhundert rasant weiterentwickelt", sagte Lee Goldman, MD, Executive Vice President und Dekan der Fakultäten für Gesundheitswissenschaften und Medizin der Columbia University. "Das Gebäude wird es uns auch ermöglichen, wichtige Aktivitäten in einer hochmodernen Einrichtung zu bündeln, die unser Engagement für eine erstklassige Ausbildung und ein hervorragendes Lernumfeld für Studenten widerspiegelt."

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Über das Design des Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center Das Vagelos Education Center ist eine 14-stöckige Glas-, Beton- und Stahlkonstruktion, die durch ein Netzwerk von Sozial- und Studienräumen verankert ist, die sich entlang einer freiliegenden, miteinander verbundenen vertikalen Treppe erstrecken, die sich über die gesamte Höhe des Gebäudes erstreckt - bekannt als "Study Cascade" - und 100.000 Quadratmeter fortschrittliche medizinische und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen umfasst. Die Nischen der Study Cascade, die für gemeinschaftliches, teambasiertes Lernen und Lehren konzipiert sind, öffnen sich zu den nach Süden ausgerichteten Außenbereichen und Terrassen. Weitere Schlüsselelemente des Entwurfs sind:

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

- Lobby und Café im Erdgeschoss, die an eine "Studienbar" mit Blick auf die Palisades angrenzen - Student Commons mit Café, Computerarbeitsbereich und Computerräumen - Modernes klinisches Simulationszentrum, ein spezieller Raum für Simulationsuntersuchungen, Kliniken und Operationssäle - Mehrzweck-Auditorium, ein flexibler Raum mit 275 Sitzplätzen, der für campusweite Veranstaltungen wie Vorlesungen, Vorführungen und Konzerte genutzt wird - "Akademisches Zentrum", Vorführungen und Konzerte - "Academic Neighborhoods", Gruppen von Klassenzimmern, die je nach Bedarf durch bedienbare Trennwände, herunterklappbare Bildschirme und großflächige Multi-User-Touchscreens, abgehängte Decken und verteilte Strom- und Datenleitungen am Boden konfiguriert werden können - South und West Courts, Außenbereiche mit einheimischen Pflanzenarten - Anatomy Quad, ein flexibler Lernbereich mit integrierten Bildschirmen und Arbeitsplatzbeleuchtung.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Raum ist wichtig für strukturiertes und informelles Lernen", sagte Elizabeth Diller, Gründungspartnerin von Diller Scofidio + Renfro. "Um das fortschrittliche medizinische Ausbildungsprogramm der Columbia zu unterstützen, haben wir ein Gebäude entworfen, das die Zusammenarbeit fördern wird. Sein charakteristisches Merkmal ist die Study Cascade - ein 14-stöckiges Netzwerk von vertikal verbundenen Räumen in verschiedenen Größen, sowohl für konzentrierte als auch für soziale, private und gemeinschaftliche Zwecke, drinnen und draußen."

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

"Das Vagelos Education Center begann mit einer klaren Vision als Ort der Exzellenz für höhere Bildung, der auch als dringend benötigtes soziales Zentrum fungieren sollte", sagte Maddy Burke-¬-Vigeland AIA, Principal bei Gensler. "Dank des großen Engagements aller Beteiligten hat sich das Projekt in etwas verwandelt, das selbst diese hohen Erwartungen übertrifft: ein lebendiges neues Zentrum für den Campus des Columbia Medical Center."

Der Entwurf von DS+R profitiert von der unglaublichen Aussicht auf den Hudson River und die Palisades. Das Gebäude enthält außerdem eine Reihe von nachhaltigen Merkmalen - darunter Materialien aus lokaler Produktion, Technologien für begrünte Dächer und ein innovatives mechanisches System, das den Energie- und Wasserverbrauch minimiert - und die Fassade weist keramische Frittenmuster auf, die auf das Außenglas gebrannt werden, um das Sonnenlicht zu streuen. Alle neuen Bau- und Renovierungsprojekte - einschließlich des Vagelos Education Center - arbeiten auf das Ziel hin, den CO2-Fußabdruck des CUMC zu minimieren und die Treibhausgasemissionen bis 2025 um 30% zu reduzieren.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Read story in EnglishFrançaisEspañolItaliano and Português

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

Architect
Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Gensler
Location
Columbia University Medical Center, 104 Haven Avenue, United States | View Map
Project Year
2016
Category
Universities
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
EntrancesCRL
ManufacturersBENTLEY
ManufacturersDaltile
ManufacturersGammalux
ManufacturersImetco
ManufacturersLutron Electronics Co. Inc.

Product Spec Sheet
Entrances
by CRL
Manufacturers
by BENTLEY
Manufacturers
by Daltile
Manufacturers
Manufacturers
by Imetco
Manufacturers

The Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center

Diller Scofidio + Renfro as Architects

Columbia University Medical Center’s new, state-­‐of-­‐the-­‐art medical and graduate education building, the Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center, will open to faculty and students on August 15, 2016 for the start of the fall term. Designed by the New York-­‐based interdisciplinary design studio Diller Scofidio + Renfro, in collaboration with Gensler as executive architect, the Vagelos Education Center is a 100,000-­‐square-­‐foot, 14-­‐story glass tower that incorporates technologically advanced classrooms, collaboration spaces, and a modern simulation center to reflect how medicine is taught, learned, and practiced in the 21st century. The design seeks to reshape the look and feel of the Medical Center campus, and also create spaces that facilitate the development of skills essential for modern medical practice.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

The building is named in recognition of the generosity of an initial lead gift from P. Roy Vagelos, MD, a distinguished alumnus of Columbia’s College of Physicians and Surgeons, and his wife, Diana Vagelos, an alumna of Barnard College and the Vice Chair of the Trustees of Barnard College. The Vagelos Education Center was funded through the generosity of many committed friends, faculty and alumni donors. Construction began in September 2013.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“We are training the doctors who will deliver medical care, the scientists who will perform groundbreaking scientific research, and the teachers who will help train the future generation of physicians and scientists. It is important that their educational facilities are as exciting as medical science is today,” said Dr. Vagelos.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“We are so grateful for Roy and Diana’s dedication to Columbia, not only through their own generous gift for this important new education building, but also the inspiration they provide to others,” said Columbia President Lee C. Bollinger. “They are joined in this enduring commitment by Philip and Cheryl Milstein who have long supported so many parts of the university, from Morningside Heights to the Medical Center, and Mary Jaharis and the late Michael Jaharis and their family, for their long-­‐established engagement with the Medical Center and this project. Because of their collective efforts we are adding another of several new architectural jewels to our campuses.”

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

In addition to the new Vagelos Education Center, initiatives to revitalize the campus include increasing green space, creating a new gateway to the medical school, consolidating student services, renovating several existing buildings, and constructing new spaces, including the new home for the Columbia School of Nursing. The Vagelos Education Center will help define the northern edge of the campus and provide a bridge to the surrounding Washington Heights community.

“Our new education building will ensure that Columbia continues to train superior doctors and researchers, educated in the latest techniques, as medicine continues to evolve rapidly throughout the 21st century,” said Lee Goldman, MD, Executive Vice President and Dean of the Faculties of Health Sciences and Medicine at Columbia University. “The building also will allow us to centralize key activities in a state-­‐of-­‐the-­‐art facility that reflects our commitment to providing world-­‐class instruction and a superb learning environment for students.”

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

About the Design of the Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center The Vagelos Education Center is a 14-­‐story glass, concrete, and steel structure anchored by a network of social and study spaces distributed along an exposed, interconnected vertical staircase that extends the height of the building—known as the “Study Cascade”—and encompasses 100,000 square feet of advanced medical and scientific facilities. The alcove interiors of the Study Cascade, designed to be conducive to collaborative, team-­‐based learning and teaching, open onto south-­‐facing outdoor spaces and terraces. Other key elements of the design include:

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

• Ground floor lobby and café, which adjoin a “study bar” with views of the Palisades • Student Commons, which features a café, computer work area and computer labs • Advanced clinical simulation center, a specialized space for mock examination rooms, clinics and operating rooms • Multi-­‐purpose auditorium, a 275-­‐seat flexible space used for campus-­‐wide events such as lectures, screenings and concerts • “Academic Neighborhoods,” groups of classrooms that can be configured according to need by operable partitions, drop down screens and large-­‐scale multi-­‐user touch screens, suspended ceilings, and distributed power and data at the floor • South and West Courts, outdoor spaces featuring local plant species • Anatomy Quad, a flexible learning space with integrated screens and task lighting.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“Space matters for structured and informal learning,” said Elizabeth Diller, founding partner at Diller Scofidio + Renfro. “To support Columbia’s progressive medical education program, we designed a building that will nurture collaboration. Its defining feature is the Study Cascade-­‐-­‐a 14-­‐story network of vertically linked spaces in a variety of sizes, both focused and social, private and communal, indoors and out.”

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

“The Vagelos Education Center started with a clear vision as a place of excellence for higher learning that would also act as a much needed social center,” said Maddy Burke-­‐Vigeland AIA, Principal at Gensler. “Because of everyone’s deep involvement, it has transformed into something that exceeds even those high expectations: a vibrant new hub for Columbia's Medical Center campus.”

photo_credit Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Iwan Baan, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

DS+R’s design takes advantage of an incredible view of the Hudson River and the Palisades. The building also integrates a range of sustainable features—including locally sourced materials, green roof technologies, and an innovative mechanical system that minimizes energy and water use—and the façade features ceramic “frit” patterns that are baked onto the exterior glass to diffuse sunlight. All new construction and renovation projects—including the Vagelos Education Center—work toward the goal of minimizing CUMC’s carbon footprint and reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 30% by 2025.

photo_credit Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.
Nic Lehoux, courtesy of Diller Scofidio +Renfro.

Read story in DeutschFrançaisEspañolItaliano and Português

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
The Pitch by Mark Odom Studio repurposes shipping containers to form a vibrant new hub for Austin, Texas
6 Jul 2022 News
The Pitch by Mark Odom Studio repurposes shipping containers to form a vibrant new hub for Austin, Texas

Located in Austin, Texas, The Pitch is a new hospitality and entertainment complex made from shippin... More

Chalet D by monovolume architecture + design brings new life to alpine architecture
6 Jul 2022 News
Chalet D by monovolume architecture + design brings new life to alpine architecture

Located in the Austrian Alps, Chalet D is a family holiday home that includes a spa area. Modern and... More

The Natural Pavilion by DP6 architectuurstudio responds to key land-use challenges in the Netherlands
4 Jul 2022 News
The Natural Pavilion by DP6 architectuurstudio responds to key land-use challenges in the Netherlands

Designed for the Floriade 2022 Expo, The Natural Pavilion by DP6 architectuurstudio is a nearly 100%... More

Sonoma home by Mork-Ulnes Architects is defined by a strong concrete structural framework
4 Jul 2022 News
Sonoma home by Mork-Ulnes Architects is defined by a strong concrete structural framework

Overlooking the vineyards of California’s Sonoma landscape, the Frame House by Mork-Ulnes Arch... More

Top 10 Trending Tiles
4 Jul 2022 News
Top 10 Trending Tiles

From bathroom walls to flooring for living spaces, tiling provides a durable, easy-to-maintain finis... More

BIG unveils a playful, wooden, colourful factory for Vestre in the middle of the Norwegian woods
3 Jul 2022 News
BIG unveils a playful, wooden, colourful factory for Vestre in the middle of the Norwegian woods

In Manor, Norway, The Plus is a new furniture factory by BIG for furniture manufacturer Vestre. Inco... More

RH+architecture develop an intriguing urban infill strategy for a Paris neighbourhood
3 Jul 2022 News
RH+architecture develop an intriguing urban infill strategy for a Paris neighbourhood

In the 11th district of Paris, the architecture of the neighbourhood has a spontaneous feel characte... More

Poppodium Nieuwe Nor offers a new landmark and hub for new music in the Netherlands
29 Jun 2022 News
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor offers a new landmark and hub for new music in the Netherlands

  In the city center Of Heerlen, Poppodium Nieuwe Nor by diederendirrix is a unique new landma... More